When Facebook was not even a dream

Last week I was to my mother’s house with my daughter. We stayed for some time there. It was like a gathering of three generations. Searching trough the old boxes of photos I found the fourth generation- some other pictures of my grandmother, Xenia Sokolova, and not only. I found photos of her when she was really young, photos of my father when he was just a baby, photos of Vania Sokolov(my grandmother’s brother) and of his wife and son from Montevideo, photos of my grandmother’s friends. I realized that we, this new, modern generation, are not the only to share, like or comment our friends’ photos on the internet, on websites like Facebook, Twitter. In those ages, in the 1920’s, 1930’s, they were doing the same only not virtual but by letters, postcards, exchanging photos, impressions, feelings. The only difference was, that, those photos, of friends and family, were more valuable, dearer to their hearts, more appreciated. The comments were decent and sincere, without jealousy or impolite suggestions.

What I found there, in those old boxes, are not just simple pictures. They are testimonies of life, of the past, of the fact that our grandparents were young like we are, that they had a life with happy or sad moments, and, like us, they wanted to share all those precious memories with their relatives and friends…and with us, present generation.

The question is that, if one day, the computers and the internet will collapse, will we have memories to share for the future generations?

The „vintage” way to share photos…

Xenia, her family and friends  (Part 1)

Imagine

Imagine

Imagine

ImagineImagine

Imagine

Imagine

Imagine

Imagine

Imagine

Imagine

Imagine

Imagine


À bientôt !

 

6 gânduri despre “When Facebook was not even a dream

  1. Genial! O tema de gandire, de contemplare, de luat in calcul. Expunerile pe celuloid pastreaza aroma fireasca, de origine, de transpunere in acel cliseu. Pe fondul cursei care tinde sa duca bagajul tehnologic la cote nebanuite, trecutul, istoria, vintage-ul, apar tot mai emotionant, mai pur. Amintiri care ne duc cu gandul la splendida lectura a copilariei, „In casa bunicilor”. Sa ne bucuram ca nu vor disparea niciodata bibliotecile, inlocuite de bazaconii electronice.
    Autorului, cu cinste!

  2. Your grandmother, Xenia Sokolova, embodies everything noble and good in a woman. I can see into her, even from afar and I can tell why you love and admire her so much. You, like me, have extraordinary families. You should write stories about these generations of your family. People would definitely read it. I know I would. Thank you for sharing your family with the world.

Lasă un răspuns

